Art.School.Differences

Research

Research project

Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK

The research project Art.School.Differences - Researching Inequalities and Normativities in the field of Higher Art Education examines inclusions and exclusions using the example of Swiss art schools.

In international research the art school domain has been described as a “preserve of the privileged” (Malik-Okon 2005) with a tendency to reproduce social inequality. Several studies show that “the study of the ‘liberal arts’ must still be regarded as a privilege reserved above all for ‘well-educated’ EU nationals from the economically prosperous classes” (Holert 2010). The pilot study undertaken by the Institute for Art Education, Making Differences: Swiss Art Schools, examined the relevance of these hypotheses to Switzerland by means of quantitative and qualitative surveys at three Swiss art schools in Bern, Geneva and Zurich.

The pilot study revealed a complex and differentiated picture of inclusivity and exclusivity in this specific sector of tertiary education, which, while in no way only mediating “art for a few” (Burke/McManus 2009), does, however, doubtlessly engender and reproduce significant asymmetries and exclusions. Contrary to their promise of social mobility, the Swiss art schools in particular appear to be clearly characterized by processes of social closure. The results of the study indisputably indicate that – despite valiant efforts and measurable changes – the legally enshrined equal treatment of various social groups has yet to be fulfilled in the domain of the art school. The same applies to “gender equality” and, in much greater measure, to other disadvantaged social groups, especially candidates with immigrant or non-urban backgrounds.

A cooperative endeavour of 3 art schools

The research project Art.School.Differences builds on these insights. Three Swiss art schools, the Geneva School of Art and Design (HEAD – Genève), the Geneva School of Music (HEM Genève – Neuchâtel) and the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK) are cooperating in its implementation. Its objective is to explore the complex configurations of inequality in art schools in more depth, to understand them and to institute changes. It takes into account both the transformation of the art school as an institution within the European university landscape, and the effects of globalisation and a migrant society in the context of inclusivity and exclusivity.

What distinguishes Art.School.Differences is that research and practice are enmeshed into the conceptual design of the project; i.e. practitioners are actively involved in the research process. This means that the project, from the very outset, is designed to integrate participatory research and the necessary methodological setting. Thus, various major players in the domain – teachers, students, artists – cooperate as co-researchers. Art.School.Differences desires to incorporate protagonists into the institutions with the aim to, on one hand, establish a sustainable debate about inequality, and, on the other, to elaborate a methodology for further participatory research relevant for other universities and institutions of higher education.

Art.School.Differences thus is one of the few projects implementing a participatory research-model in the field of higher education with the aim to develop social equality. We indeed believe that art schools inevitably take profit if striving for more equality, plurality, heterogeneity.

Attachments

Links

Languages:

German, French, English

Project start:

2014

Project end:

2016

Disciplines:

Diversity Labels:

Gender, LGBTIQ*, Age, Race, Class, Intersectionality, Migration, Health

Areas:

Research

Genres:

Research project

Art.School.Differences

Recherche

Projet de recherche

Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK

Le projet de recherche Art.School.Differences - Researching Inequalities and Normativities in the field of Higher Art Education examine les inclusions et exclusions dans le domaine de l'éducation à l'exemple des hautes écoles d’art en Suisse.

Dans la recherche internationale, les hautes écoles d’art ont été décrites comme un secteur qui reste « l’apanage des privilégiés » (Malik-Okon, 2005) et qui tend ainsi à reproduire les inégalités sociales. Diverses études montrent « à quel point l’étude des arts continue à être considérée comme un privilège avant tout réservé aux membres des strates instruites et aisées originaires d’Union européenne » (Holert, 2010). L’étude préliminaire Making Differences : les hautes écoles d’art en Suisse, menée par l’Institute for Art Education, s’est attachée à analyser et vérifier la pertinence de ces thèses pour la Suisse grâce à des enquêtes quantitatives et qualitatives réalisées dans trois hautes écoles d’art (à Berne, Genève et Zurich).

L’étude a permis de dresser un tableau complexe et nuancé de l’intégration et de l’exclusion dans ce secteur spécifique de l’enseignement supérieur qui, loin de se contenter d’enseigner « l’art à une élite » (Burke/McManus, 2009), crée et reproduit incontestablement des asymétries significatives et des exclusions. Malgré leur promesse de mobilité, les hautes écoles d’art suisses semblent continuer à être caractérisées par de nets processus d’exclusion sociale. Les résultats de l’étude préliminaire indiquent incontestablement que, malgré tous les efforts consentis et des changements indéniables, l’égalité entre les différents groupes sociaux inscrite dans la loi n’est pas encore une réalité dans le domaine des hautes écoles d’art. Cela vaut tout aussi bien pour « l’égalité entres hommes et femmes » que, dans une plus large mesure et à des degrés divers, pour d’autres groupes sociaux défavorisés, en particulier les immigrés et les candidats originaires de zones non urbaines.

Un projet de coopération entre trois écoles d’art

Art.School.Differences est un projet de recherche basé sur ces conclusions et mené conjointement par trois hautes écoles d’art suisses, la HEAD – Genève, Haute école d’art et de design, la Haute école de musique de Genève (HEM Genève – Neuchâtel) et la Haute école des arts de Zurich (ZHdK). Son objectif est d’explorer de façon approfondie les différentes situations d’inégalité dans les hautes écoles d’art, de les comprendre et de les faire évoluer. Pour ce faire, il est tenu compte aussi bien de la transformation de l’institution que constitue la haute école d’art dans l’enseignement supérieur européen que des effets de la mondialisation et des migrations en matière d’intégration et d’exclusion.

Dans l’élaboration du projet Art.School.Differences, l’imbrication sur le plan conceptuel entre la recherche et la pratique est un facteur déterminant : ainsi, la pratique et les praticiens ne sont pas étudiés puis informés ultérieurement des résultats mais participent activement au processus de recherche. Le projet mise donc résolument sur la recherche participative et sur un cadre méthodique dans lequel différents acteurs du domaine concerné – enseignants, étudiants, artistes – collaborent. Art.School.Differences entend informer et impliquer les protagonistes des institutions pour traiter du thème des inégalités et mettre au point les méthodes qui permettent la poursuite de la recherche participative et qui soient pertinentes également pour d’autres hautes écoles.

Art.School.Differences permet de tester un modèle participatif pour l’évolution des hautes écoles, basé sur la recherche et visant l’égalité et de la justice sociales, avec la conviction qu’une haute école d’art performante au niveau international ne pourra que profiter de la promotion de l’égalité, de la pluralité et de la hétérogénéité.

Pièces jointes

Links

Sprachen:

Allemand, Français, Anglais

Projektstart:

2014

Projektschluss:

2016

Disciplines:

Diversity Themen:

Genre, LGBTIQ*, Age, Race, Classe, Intersectionnalité, Migration, Santé

Bereich:

Recherche

Form:

Projet de recherche