Being a parent at UNIL

Practice

Policy, Brochure

BEC - Bureau de l'égalité UNIL

Guide for (future) parents and managers

Becoming a parent is a happy event! But the adventure of parenthood also involves its share of challenges. Juggling family life and professional activity is still all too often practically equivalent to squaring the circle, especially for women. Lack of childcare facilities, limited parental leave, often difficult and precarious working conditions... the Equal Opportunities Office sees all these difficulties at close quarters on a daily basis.

Women in the university community, mothers or mothers-to-be, ask themselves lots of questions. How can I fit in my study time after the birth of my child? What effect will my maternity leave have on the duration of my contract as Assistant? Is it possible to breastfeed at UNIL?

Fathers – and others concerned by parenthood – also ask themselves questions. Will I be entitled to paternity leave? Who will look after my children? How can I obtain acknowledgement for my family tasks?

Managers too have an important role to play. How can we manage the specific situations, requests and needs of parents under my responsability? How can we encourage the balancing of an academic career and family life, in order to make the most of my staff’s potential?

This guide gathers the answers to all these questions. It endeavours to support those concerned by parenthood so that becoming and being a parent at UNIL is indeed a happy event for everyone.

Attachments

Languages:

French, English

Media Type:

PDF

City:

Lausanne

Year:

2016

Diversity Labels:

Gender, Work-life-balance, Institutionalisation

Areas:

Practice

Genres:

Policy, Brochure

Être parent à l’UNIL

Pratique

Directive, Brochure

BEC - Bureau de l'égalité UNIL

Guide pour les (futurs) parents et les responsables hiérarchiques

Devenir parent, c’est un heureux événement ! Mais l’aventure de la parentalité comporte aussi son lot de défis. Mener de front sa vie familiale et son activité professionnelle tient encore trop souvent  de  la  «  quadrature  du  cercle  »,  notamment  pour  les  femmes. Insuffisance des places d’accueil, congés parentaux restreints, conditions de travail souvent difficiles et précaires... : le Bureau de l’égalité est témoin de ces difficultés au quotidien.

Les femmes de la communauté universitaire, mères ou sur le point de le devenir, se posent de nombreuses questions. Comment aménager mon temps d’études après la naissance de mon enfant ? Quel sera l’impact de mon congé maternité sur la durée de mon contrat d’assistante ? Est-il possible d’allaiter à l’UNIL ?

Les pères - et autres personnes concernées par la parentalité – s’interrogent également. Aurai-je le droit à un congé paternité ? Par qui faire garder mes enfants ? Comment faire reconnaître mon travail familial ?

Les responsables hiérarchiques ne sont pas en reste. Comment gérer les situations, les demandes et les besoins spécifiques des parents sous ma responsabilité ? Comment favoriser la conciliation de la carrière académique et de la vie familiale, aussi afin de mieux profiter du potentiel de mon personnel ?

Le présent guide regroupe les réponses à toutes ces interrogations. Il a pour ambition de soutenir les personnes concernées par la parentalité, afin que devenir et être parent à l’UNIL soit, pour toutes et tous, un heureux événement.

Pièces jointes

Langues:

Français, Anglais

Type de média:

PDF

Ville:

Lausanne

Année:

2016

Thématiques diversité:

Genre, Conciliation, Institutionnalisation

Domaine:

Pratique

Type:

Directive, Brochure