Dual-career couples at Swiss Universities

Research

Report

swissuniversities

Since 2000, the Federal Programme «Equal Opportunity at Swiss Universities » has been pursuing the goal of increasing the number of women in top academic positions at Swiss higher education institutions.

Main programme aims include ensuring that 25% of all full and associate professors and 40% of all assistant professors in Switzerland are women, and increasing the percentage of women in management roles at universities between 2013 and 2016.

The third phase of the Federal Programme (2008-2011/2012) dealt with the issue of «dual-career couples», a term used to describe couples in which both partners hold higher academic degrees, identify strongly with their work, and pursue their own career. How can universities help to ensure that couples who wish to accommodate both academic career and family are able to do so, and that this partnership model does not simply remain a nice idea or an empty statement of intent? This question is relevant to gender equality mainly because more female academics live in dualcareer constellations than do their male colleagues. By establishing gender- sensitive measures for dual-career couples, universities can improve the chances for women to succeed in academia.

When the programme phase «dual-career couples» began, there were no conclusive data on how many such constellations actually exist in Switzerland. Today the picture is different. A comprehensive survey of academic staff at Swiss universities and the two Federal Institutes of Technology was conducted in 2011 when the Federal Programme was undergoing evaluation. The results show that female academics are often under greater pressure than their male counterparts to accommodate career, partnership and family – influencing their chances of a successful career.

The following report presents the main results of the survey along with an updated report (2012) on the evaluation of the programme phase 2008-2011. The evaluation and follow-up report were carried out by the Centre for Labour and Social Policy Studies BASS on behalf of the Federal Programme. The programme’s directors read the results with great interest and would like to thank the evaluation team for their excellent work – work that will prove valuable for future discussions on university policy. The Rectors’ Conference of the Swiss Universities (CRUS) has already signalled its support for the recommendations in the evaluation report.

Attachments

Institutions:

Languages:

German, French, English

Media Type:

PDF

City:

Bern

Year:

2013

Diversity Labels:

Gender, Work-life-balance

Areas:

Research

Genres:

Report

Couples à double carrière dans les universités suisses

Recherche

Rapport

swissuniversities

Depuis l’an 2000, le Programme fédéral « Égalité des chances entre femmes et hommes dans les universités suisses » a pour objectif une meilleure représentation des femmes dans les échelons supérieurs de la hiérarchie universitaire.

Le but fixé est de parvenir à un taux de femmes de 25% parmi les professeur(e)s ordinaires et extraordinaires et de 40% parmi les professeur(e)s assistant(e)s dans l’ensemble de la Suisse. À cela s’ajoutent désormais des efforts pour voir augmenter la participation des femmes dans les organes de direction entre 2013 et 2016.

Le programme s’est concentré au cours de sa troisième phase (2008- 2011/2012) sur un aspect supplémentaire : les couples à double carrière. Cette dénomination s’applique aux couples dans lesquels chacun des conjoints dispose d’une formation au niveau supérieur, est fortement impliqué dans son parcours professionnel et aspire à poursuivre sa propre carrière. Que peuvent proposer les universités afin de donner à de tels couples une existence autre que théorique et de donner vie à un modèle qu’elles appellent elles-mêmes de leurs voeux ? Poser cette question dans le cadre de l’égalité des chances prend tout son sens lorsqu’on sait que les femmes sont plus nombreuses dans le monde universitaire que les hommes à vivre dans des couples à double carrière. En créant des conditions adaptées aux deux sexes pour ces couples, on améliore aussi les chances des femmes de réussir une carrière universitaire.

Lors du lancement du volet « Couples à double carrière », l’on ne disposait pas de chiffres fiables concernant la représentation de ce type de couple en Suisse. La situation est désormais tout autre : dans le cadre de l’évaluation du programme, une vaste enquête a été menée auprès du personnel scientifique des universités suisses ainsi que des deux EPF. Ses conclusions sont les suivantes : les collaboratrices rencontrent souvent des difficultés plus grandes que leurs collègues masculins pour concilier vie professionnelle, vie de couple et de famille – ce qui affecte leurs chances de poursuivre une carrière universitaire.

Le présent rapport présente les principaux résultats du rapport d’évaluation détaillé de la phase 2008-2011 du programme, ainsi que les données actualisées de 2012. Ces évaluations ont été réalisées par le bureau d’études BASS à la demande de la direction du programme. Cette dernière a pris connaissance des résultats avec le plus grand intérêt et tient à remercier toute l’équipe d’évaluation de la qualité et de la précision de son travail, qui revêtira une grande utilité lors des réflexions à venir en matière de politique universitaire. La CRUS a d’ores et déjà adopté des positions allant dans le sens des recommandations du rapport d’évaluation.

Pièces jointes

Institutionen:

Langues:

Allemand, Français, Anglais

Type de média:

PDF

Ville:

Bern

Année:

2013

Thématiques diversité:

Genre, Conciliation

Domaine:

Recherche

Type:

Rapport