Art.School.Differences

Research

Research project

Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK

The research project Art.School.Differences - Researching Inequalities and Normativities in the field of Higher Art Education examines inclusions and exclusions using the example of Swiss art schools.

In international research the art school domain has been described as a “preserve of the privileged” (Malik-Okon 2005) with a tendency to reproduce social inequality. Several studies show that “the study of the ‘liberal arts’ must still be regarded as a privilege reserved above all for ‘well-educated’ EU nationals from the economically prosperous classes” (Holert 2010). The pilot study undertaken by the Institute for Art Education, Making Differences: Swiss Art Schools, examined the relevance of these hypotheses to Switzerland by means of quantitative and qualitative surveys at three Swiss art schools in Bern, Geneva and Zurich.

The pilot study revealed a complex and differentiated picture of inclusivity and exclusivity in this specific sector of tertiary education, which, while in no way only mediating “art for a few” (Burke/McManus 2009), does, however, doubtlessly engender and reproduce significant asymmetries and exclusions. Contrary to their promise of social mobility, the Swiss art schools in particular appear to be clearly characterized by processes of social closure. The results of the study indisputably indicate that – despite valiant efforts and measurable changes – the legally enshrined equal treatment of various social groups has yet to be fulfilled in the domain of the art school. The same applies to “gender equality” and, in much greater measure, to other disadvantaged social groups, especially candidates with immigrant or non-urban backgrounds.

A cooperative endeavour of 3 art schools

The research project Art.School.Differences builds on these insights. Three Swiss art schools, the Geneva School of Art and Design (HEAD – Genève), the Geneva School of Music (HEM Genève – Neuchâtel) and the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK) are cooperating in its implementation. Its objective is to explore the complex configurations of inequality in art schools in more depth, to understand them and to institute changes. It takes into account both the transformation of the art school as an institution within the European university landscape, and the effects of globalisation and a migrant society in the context of inclusivity and exclusivity.

What distinguishes Art.School.Differences is that research and practice are enmeshed into the conceptual design of the project; i.e. practitioners are actively involved in the research process. This means that the project, from the very outset, is designed to integrate participatory research and the necessary methodological setting. Thus, various major players in the domain – teachers, students, artists – cooperate as co-researchers. Art.School.Differences desires to incorporate protagonists into the institutions with the aim to, on one hand, establish a sustainable debate about inequality, and, on the other, to elaborate a methodology for further participatory research relevant for other universities and institutions of higher education.

Art.School.Differences thus is one of the few projects implementing a participatory research-model in the field of higher education with the aim to develop social equality. We indeed believe that art schools inevitably take profit if striving for more equality, plurality, heterogeneity.

Attachments

Links

Languages:

German, French, English

Project start:

2014

Project end:

2016

Disciplines:

Diversity Labels:

Gender, LGBTIQ*, Age, Race, Class, Intersectionality, Migration, Health

Areas:

Research

Genres:

Research project

Art.School.Differences

Forschung

Forschungsprojekt

Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK

Das Forschungsprojekt Art.School.Differences - Researching Inequalities and Normativities in the field of Higher Art Education untersucht Ein- und Ausschlüsse im Bildungsbereich am Beispiel Schweizer Kunsthochschulen.

Die Kunsthochschule wird in der internationalen Forschung als Feld beschrieben, das zum «preserve of the privileged» (Malik-Okon 2005) und damit zur Reproduktion von sozialer Ungleichheit tendiert. Verschiedene Studien zeigen, «wie sehr das Studium der ‹freien Künste› weiterhin als ein Privileg anzusehen ist, das vor allem von Angehörigen ‹bildungsnaher›, EU-einheimischer und ökonomisch wohlhabender Schichten wahrgenommen wird» (Holert 2010). Die Relevanz dieser Thesen für die Schweiz untersuchte und überprüfte die vom Institute for Art Education durchgeführte Vorstudie Making Differences: Schweizer Kunsthochschulen durch quantitative und qualitative Erhebungen an drei Kunsthochschulen (Bern, Genf, Zürich).

Die Studie ergab ein komplexes und differenziertes Bild zu Inklusion und Exklusion in diesem spezifischen Sektor der tertiären Bildung, der durchaus nicht nur «art for a few» (Burke/McManus 2009) vermittelt, jedoch zweifellos signifikante Asymmetrien und Ausschlüsse herstellt und reproduziert. Entgegen dem Mobilitätsversprechen scheinen gerade die schweizerischen Kunsthochschulen nach wie vor durch deutliche soziale Schliessungsprozesse gekennzeichnet. Die Ergebnisse der Vorstudie legen fraglos nahe, dass die gesetzlich verankerte Gleichstellung von verschiedenen sozialen Gruppen – bei allen geleisteten Anstrengungen und messbaren Veränderungen – im Feld der Kunsthochschule noch zu erreichen ist. Das gilt für die «Gleichstellung von Mann und Frau» noch ebenso wie, in ungleich stärkerem Mass, für andere benachteiligte soziale Gruppen, vor allem Migrant_innen oder Kandidat_innen aus dem nicht-urbanen Raum.

Kooperationsprojekt von drei Kunsthochschulen

Art.School.Differences ist ein auf diesen Erkenntnissen aufbauendes Forschungsprojekt in Kooperation von drei Schweizer Hochschulen, der HEAD – Genève, Haute école d’art et de design, der Haute école de musique HEM Genève – Neuchâtel und der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK). Ziel ist es, den komplexen Konfigurationen von Ungleichheit, Ein- und Ausschlüssen in der Kunsthochschule genauer nachzugehen, diese zu verstehen und zu verändern. Dabei werden sowohl der Transformation der Institution Kunsthochschule im europäischen Hochschulraum als auch den Effekten von Globalisierung und Migrationsgesellschaft Rechnung getragen.

Entscheidend für Art.School.Differences ist, dass Forschung und Praxis im Projektdesign konzeptuell verschränkt sind. Die Praxis beziehungsweise die Praktiker_innen werden also nicht beforscht und nachträglich über die Ergebnisse informiert, sondern aktiv in den Forschungsprozess involviert. Das Projekt setzt damit dezidiert auf partizipative Forschung und ein methodisches Setting, in dem verschiedene Akteur_innen des Feldes – Lehrende, Studierende, Künstler_innen – als Ko-Forscher_innen mitarbeiten. Art.School.Differences will in den Institutionen Protagonist_innen für die Auseinandersetzung mit Ungleichheit engagieren und qualifizieren sowie die Methoden für eine weitergehende partizipative Forschung erarbeiten, die auch für andere Hochschulen relevant sind.

Mit Art.School.Differences wird ein partizipatives Modell forschungsbasierter Hochschulentwicklung in Richtung sozialer Gerechtigkeit erprobt, überzeugt davon, dass die Hochschule mehr Egalität, Pluralität, Heterogenität braucht. Teil des Schlussberichtes sind identifizierte Handlungsfelder zur Veränderung bestehender Strukturen, Prozesse und Praktiken an Schweizer Kunsthochschulen.

Anhänge

Links

Sprachen:

Deutsch, Französisch, Englisch

Projektstart:

2014

Projektschluss:

2016

Disziplinen:

Diversity Themen:

Geschlecht, LGBTIQ*, Alter, Race, Klasse, Intersektionalität, Migration, Gesundheit

Bereich:

Forschung

Form:

Forschungsprojekt